There’s another rub: You can install so many extensions that you can bring the browser to a creaking halt under the weight of the system resources that the extensions themselves consume. So, I set myself a challenge – a shortlist of the seven best Chrome extensions. Here’s the list I came up with.  Got one you think I missed off the list? Let me know in the comments below! If you are a tab hog, this is a must-have, and it allows me to keep dozens of tabs open without the performance hit. Alternatively, just click on the FoxClocks icon next to your address bar for quick access to your clocks, without leaving the current web page. As an added bonus, FoxClocks deals with daylight saving time so you don’t have to! The extension not only gives me access to my passwords, but also allows me to do things like create new strong passwords and manage my account. If you’re not using a password manager – and you really should be! – then I suggest you take LastPass for a spin. Highly recommended.

Block annoying video ads and bannersBlock pop upsStop tracking and give yourself more privacyFight off destructive malvertising that can hide in adsGive yourself faster browsing (as resources are blocked from loading)Customize features, like whitelisting for favorite sitesGet free and constant supportGive yourself simply more control of the experience you want